News Release 222

Consumer Tips for Getting an Energize Missouri Appliance Rebate

Five things consumers need to know about the program

Volume 38-222 (For Immediate Release)
Contact: Kerry Cordray
573-526-4220

JEFFERSON CITY, MO, APRIL 14, 2010 – A federally-funded home appliance rebate program is intended to improve energy efficiency and stimulate the economy using funds from the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act, or Recovery Act. States around the nation are giving rebates to consumers to replace inefficient home appliances with energy-efficient models. Every state has specific energy needs, so rebate programs may look different from state to state.

Missouri’s $5.6 million Energize Missouri Appliance Rebate Program starts April 19 and will fund rebates for five appliance categories - space heating, space cooling, water heaters, clothes washers and dishwashers. The Recovery Act funding for the program equals approximately $1 per Missouri citizen. Consumers can qualify for rebates from $75 to $500 with a maximum of $575 for multiple appliances.  The department anticipates issuing 48,000 rebates during the program. Rebate reservations are available on a first-come, first-served basis. Experience in other states shows the program is very popular, and the funds will go fast.

Missouri has scheduled its rebate program to coincide with the “Show Me Green” ENERGY STAR® sales tax holiday. Consumers who wish to take advantage of the rebate program and the state sales tax holiday must purchase the ENERGY STAR appliances between April 19-25 in participating retail and installation contractor businesses.

Consumers should plan ahead and be ready to buy the qualified appliance when the programs begin next week.  Here are five ways to maximize consumer savings:

1. Learn more about the Energize Missouri Appliance Rebate Program.

Consumers must purchase ENERGY STAR appliances to replace older, less efficient models. Consumers must recycle the old appliance to qualify for a rebate.  Consumers may want to consider the following steps to help during the rebate program.

2.      Meet the Eligibility Requirements – Consumers will qualify for a rebate only if they meet all of the following conditions:

3.      Be Ready to Buy on April 19. 

  1. Research before April 19 – Visit the website - MissouriApplianceRebate.com and locate participating retailers and installation contractors to learn about the eligible appliance categories and models. Choose the make and model of the appliance(s) and take the information to the participating retailer or installation contractor.
  2. Buy on April 19 or 20 - Consumers best chance for securing a rebate is through a participating retailer or installation contractor. The funds may go quickly.  If a particular retailer or installation contractor is not currently registered as a partner in the program, consumers may contact them to participate.
  3. Don’t give up – A limited number of reservations will be available directly to the consumer on April 21 and unclaimed rebates may be available later in the program. All ENERGY STAR purchases from April 19-25, even those without a rebate reservation, will benefit from the “Show Me Green” ENERGY STAR sales tax holiday, and other “green” rebates may apply.
  4. Keep a Copy of the Paperwork – To secure a rebate, consumers are required to mail in a copy of their completed and signed rebate application (with unique ID#), proof of purchase, proof of residency and proof of recycling.  Consumers should make sure to save copies of all of the paperwork!
  5. Enjoy the Savings - ENERGY STAR qualified appliances are designed to use 10 to 50 percent less energy than standard appliances, resulting in savings for the consumer, as well as reduced emissions of greenhouse gases and pollutants.

To learn more about the Energize Missouri Appliance Rebate Program, please visit MissouriApplianceRebate.com.

###